top of page

Encoding memories using NLP & applied psychology

When I coach someone using NLP, I find it useful to have them see their future goal clearly in their mind’s ‘eye’.


I encourage them to see it in full colour, with full sound... noticing what difference it makes as everything that needs to be there.. is.. as they begin to notice how it feels to have this all in mind.


I always find it useful to ask the question “name one thing that you’ll see on a daily basis, either as you wake up or even as you get ready to continue with your day ahead... which will remind you of the direction you’re going in”(or something like this)


The words I use change based on the person in front of me, but what I’m doing is something that’s known in the psychological sciences as ‘encoding’ a ‘memory’..


It’s a generally accepted phenomenon that memory and imagination essentially use the same neurological circuits in the brain, therefore imagination is the creation of a memory..


And according to leading researchers in psychology, anything present at the time of encoding, becomes a ‘retrieval cue’..



So the moment the client of mine sees, smells, hears or feels something(the cue) that was present in the encoding.. the imagined goal will come into mind, either fully or running in the background of the mind..


The art and science of NLP is of such beautiful interest to me that I sit on a train tapping out this long status.. I’ve already long imagined stepping out and grabbing a sandwich from subway.. the ticket gates will remind me to grab my debit card.. the exit of the station will remind me to get a breakfast subway.. and the subway will remind me to get moving quickly so I’m on time for teaching today..


Hope something here makes some sense..

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Using the meta-model of NLP

The meta-model produced by NLP is one of the most fascinating subjects and I found it most useful for reading academic journals in order to help with critical analysis. Especially when the writer omit

What is coaching? A definition

The metaphor of Coaching is grounded in the idea of a vehicle which takes a passenger from where they are, to somewhere else. Most conversations humans have are a form of coaching, if you stop and thi

Affect vs effect (dealing with the past)

The past, is such a thing which causes pain points for so many humans who have yet to learn how to override its affects in the present.. Effect vs Affect There’s a difference.. Effect, is what what th

bottom of page